New Things on the Job

15/05/2014 21:42

Is it normal that when you're learning something new on the job, you have to figure it out yourself? Or is this just me?

When my boss told me today that I had to do something new, I immediately knew I had to figure it out on my own. Crazy right? Not so crazy to me. I think I'm getting used to it. The last time my boss explained  how to do something, he did it in like 7 parts spread over a period of almost 2 weeks. One of the times it's usefull to write stuff down.

So today was no different. My boss told me to fix something I had never done before. He said I could ask Tim to explain it to me. Yeah sure, like he has the time to do that, Luckily he had the time, unfortunately he didn't have the knowledge. Well, that's fine by me.I'll find someone with the right knowledge myself. And I did. As proud as I was, I told my boss that I fixed it. You know what he said. That's great, next week you can teach someone else.

And that's Always my luck. Barely knowing something, but (according to other people) able to teach to others about that.

Contact

complicated me